TIMGADseparator

Located in Batna Province, in Aures, Timgad is a northern east Algerian city. It is located in 35Km east of the chief town of Batna, and it is 530 Km or more far from Algiers.
Timgad city is best known by the ruins of the Romans city “Tharmgadi”, which was founded by the Roman Emperor Trajan in 100 AD. It was built for strategic purposes, but it becomes, within time, a centre of population. It was surrounded by a stone great wall of protection.
In the beginning, the city occupied an area of 12 hectares; it became, at the end, an area of fifteen hectares. The Roman city was named Tharmgadi.
The first map of Timgad was quadrangular and geometric: two major roads cross the city from East to the West (The Documanus Maximus Road) and from the North to the South (The Cardo maximus Road).
Des vestiges qui restent, jusqu’à présent, l’on citera le forum (cœur politique et social de la cité),la place publique ,la basilique ,le palais de justice ,à coté le marché et les boutiques et non loin de la fut érigé le théâtre.
Moreover, the vestiges that still remain, will tell the story of the forum (political and social center of the city), the public square, the basilica, the courthouse next to the market and the shops; and not far from there, there was the erecting theater.
The Theater is the main edifice of shows in the city of Timgad.
It is loocated in the south of the Forum, upon a hill; It can accommodate around 3500 people.
A museum was erected to preserve valuable vestiges of pottery, beautiful mosaics, statues and bas- reliefs that tell the story of the inhabitants of the city of "Thamugadi", which remains a city that keeps the visitor's curiosity and wonder at this precious heritage which has not revealed all its secrets.
Le choix d’y ériger un festival culturel n’est pas fortuit.
Il émane de la volonté d’un peuple de se réapproprier son patrimoine culturel, qui raconte l’Algérie millénaire et d’en faire une destination touristique; une pierre angulaire dans le développement économique et social du pays .
The choice to embrace a cultural festival in Thamougadi is not fortuitous.
It emanates from the will of a people to reappropriate its cultural heritage, which tells Algeria millennium and make it a tourist destination; A cornerstone in the country's economic and social development.

  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image

TIMGADseparator

Située dans la willaya de Batna dans les Aurès, Timgad est une ville du Nord- est de l’Algérie, .Elle distante environ de 35 Km du chef lieu de la wilaya, et de plus de 400 Km à l’Est de la Capitale Alger.
Timgad est connu par les vestiges de la ville romaine de Thamugadi , laquelle a été fondée par l’empereur romain Trajan , l’an 100 av J.C ; qui se transforma rapidement en zone d’habitation , entourée d’une grande muraille de pierre pour la protéger.

Initialement d’une superficie de 12 hectares, elle finit par en occuper une cinquantaine .La ville romaine portait le nom de Thamugadi .

Le plan initial de Timgad est quadrangulaire et géométrique : deux grand axes routiers la traversent d’Est en Ouest « Documanus maximus » et du Nord au Sud « Cardo Maximus ».

Des vestiges qui restent, jusqu’à présent, l’on citera le forum (cœur politique et social de la cité),la place publique ,la basilique ,le palais de justice ,à coté le marché et les boutiques et non loin de la fut érigé le théâtre .

Le théâtre est le principal édifice de spectacles de la ville de Timgad , situé au Sud du forum, au flanc d’une colline, peut accueillir environ 3500 personnes.

Un musé fut édifié pour conserver de précieux vestiges constitués de poteries ,de très belles mosaïques , de statues et de bas reliefs qui narrent la vie des habitants de la ville de « Thamugadi », qui reste une cité gardant en éveil la curiosité et l’émerveillement du visiteur devant ce riche patrimoine qui n’a pas livré tous ses secrets.

Le choix d’y ériger un festival culturel n’est pas fortuit . Il émane de la volonté d’un peuple de se réapproprier son patrimoine culturel, qui raconte l’Algérie millénaire et d’en faire une destination touristique ; une pierre angulaire dans le développement économique et social du pays .

  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image